RSS

Giving Thanks @ Thanksgiving

23 Nov

This is one of the best Thanksgivings ever!

No I have not hit the lottery, I have not hit the top of my career, and no my life is not perfect.

I volunteered 5 hours of my time to serve seniors a Thanksgiving meal.

Truth is I was not happy missing my boxing class when I know consistent exercise during this season is critical for my weight goals energy levels and just feeling good but this volunteering gig was well worth it. It was rejuvenating, inspiring and made me feel good inside. Helping others will give you a high unparalleled to anything you could do for yourself.

What was it that touched me so deeply?

The smiles on their faces, the feelings of anticipation that this event was going to be a festive occasion, the memories shared and me knowing that my actions helped contribute to feelings of happiness for these seniors.

While many are concerned about rising costs and the food they will serve for Thanksgiving, http://www.huliq.com/10559/cost-thanksgiving-2011-meal-increases-about-13-percent, I vote to avoid the stress, overeating and feeling stuffed. Volunteer to help a good cause, seniors, veterans, children in need, there are many worthwhile causes. Your experience will make it the best Thanksgiving ever for you and those who you spend time with.

Rainbow turkey for Thanksgiving decoration

Image via Wikipedia

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Giving Thanks @ Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

 
